Ember

The Ember Codex

The edit-scope test: what 'learns from your edits' leaves out

Six session-notes tools say their AI picks up how you write. Here is what each page claims changes, and the three questions none of them answers.

Handy Gunawan · · about 4 min to read

Six session-notes tools say their AI picks up how you write. The claim covers three things: a template you picked, the wording an AI copies back from your rewrites, and a memory that follows one client. Only one of the six pages says which it means, and none says how to change it back.

I build Ember, and its landing page makes the claim too, so it gets a row and a blank cell like the rest. It is in closed beta.

What does “learns from your edits” actually change?

Upheal’s page is the only one of the six that describes the software altering its own output after you edit a note. It names the two things that move: terminology and formatting. The other five describe something you set by hand.

ToolThe claim, quotedWhat it says changesFor whom
Upheal (pricing, 2026-09-28)“As you edit your notes, our AI adapts to your terminology and formatting”later notes’ wording and layoutnot stated
MedicalScribe.app (pricing, 2026-09-28)“you control the format, SOAP, DAP, or your own custom template”the format you pickper note
Granola (pricing, 2026-09-28)“Customized note templates”a template you buildper template
The Coach Scribe (site, 2026-09-28)per-client AI level: “Summary + Interpretation help”how much the AI writesper client
Littlebird (pricing, 2026-09-28)an assistant “with a memory of your work”what it recallsnot stated
Ember (landing, 2026-10-05)“your next report will be created with those past edits and preferences already in mind”the next reportnot stated

Every cell was read on the date beside the tool. The six pricing pages I queued for 2026-10-10 failed to load, so there are no prices here.

Is a custom template the same as learning?

No. A template is a decision you make once and can look at; learning is a change the software makes without asking, and you meet it in the next report.

MedicalScribe.app’s “you control the format, SOAP, DAP, or your own custom template” is customisation, and so is Granola’s “Customized note templates”. One r/psychotherapists poster wanted exactly that: a scribe that “does notes in the format I want”, which is a setting rather than a memory.

The difference decides what can go wrong. A template you chose badly, you can see and change. A wording habit the software took from one rushed Friday report, you cannot see until it turns up in the next client’s.

What should you ask a vendor who claims it?

Ask what changes, for whom, and whether it can be reset. Those three questions are the edit-scope test. A page making the claim should answer all three.

What changes. The template, the wording, a stored example, or a memory of one client. Upheal names wording and layout; The Coach Scribe names how much the AI writes per client.

For whom. This template, this client, or every report you build. Three of the six pages leave it blank, so a coach cannot tell whether a fix made for one client is now the house style: who your AI note taker is writing to.

Can it be reset. No page in the set answers that. Until one does, assume what the software picked up stays picked up.

Ember’s row has the same blank, and I would rather answer those three questions in writing than make the claim again without them.

Questions people ask next?

Can AI learn your note writing style?

Some vendors say so. Upheal’s pricing page, read on 2026-09-28, said its AI adapts to your terminology and formatting as you edit. Most other claims here are template customisation, which changes the form you picked.

Is there an AI note taker built for coaches?

Yes. The Coach Scribe sells to life and professional coaches, and MedicalScribe.app runs a page for health coaches, both read on 2026-09-28. Upheal is built for therapists, so its formats are clinical: the documents each platform holds.

How much do AI note takers cost?

Prices move, and the six pricing pages queued for this piece did not load on 2026-10-10. Read the vendor’s page on the day you buy, and check whether the learning claim is on the paid tier.

Ember is a session-report builder for coaches, in closed beta: $8 a month billed yearly, and 4 free reports a month. I build it.