The Ember Codex
The writing seat: which subscription writes your session report
Session-report tools split on one question: does the tool bring its own model, or the workflow around the AI you already pay for? A table, and what each side bills.
Session-report tools for coaches split on one question: whose AI writes the report. One kind brings its own model and bills you for it. The other kind supplies the workflow around the ChatGPT or Claude subscription you already pay for, and your assistant writes. Ask which of the two is in the writing seat before you compare anything else.
Which subscription writes your session report?
The vendor’s model writes the report in every tool below but the last, and your own assistant only gets to read the result.
Granola’s pricing page, pulled 30 September 2026, puts AI meeting notes on the free tier and adds API access and MCP to Business at $14 per user a month. MCP is the connector that lets Claude or ChatGPT read another app’s notes. Littlebird’s page, same day, sells Plus at $17 a month with Littlebird MCP, which it says connects its memory to “other AI tools like Claude and Cursor”.
| Tool | Whose AI writes | Where the coach works | Price checked 30 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Granola | its own model | Granola app, MCP on Business | $0 Basic, $14 per user a month |
| Littlebird | its own model | its app, MCP on Plus | $0 Basic, $17 a month billed annually |
| Read.ai | its own model | Read.ai, then MCP to your AI | not stated |
| Jamie | its own model | Jamie, then MCP to Claude | not stated |
| Ember | your ChatGPT, Claude or Littlebird | that assistant, then Ember’s editor | $8 a month, 5 free sessions a month |
Fathom, Hedy, Otter and Read.ai returned a cookie banner that day, so those cells stay blank.
Does a bundled model add a second bill?
It adds a second writing bill, above the assistant you already pay for.
Granola Business at $14 or Littlebird Plus at $17 sits on top of whatever goes to OpenAI or Anthropic each month. One r/psychotherapists poster describes a $35 AI-notes add-on on practice software they already pay for, then asks the thread for something cheaper. That is the poster’s own bill.
And if you already prefer your own assistant’s writing, the bundled model bills you for a draft you will rewrite. “I use Claude over Fathom’s built in AI simply because it’s better,” writes one r/Coaching poster who records in one tool and pastes the transcript into another. One coach’s account, not a measure of which model writes better.
What happens when you switch AIs later?
Where the model is the product, the template and the past reports sit beside it, so changing assistant means changing tool. Where the workflow is the product, the model is a slot, and a coach moving from ChatGPT to Claude keeps the same letterhead and prompts.
Both connectors I could check sit on a paid tier, Granola’s on Business at $14 and Littlebird’s on Plus at $17. Calling that a switching cost is my argument rather than a finding.
I build Ember, the last row, and it is in closed beta, so read that row as an interested party’s claim.
Switching costs reach the client too, which the transition bill works through. The recipient test takes the other half.
You already know which AI you trust with a client’s words. The question is whether it gets the writing seat, or whether you pay a second subscription for it.
Questions people ask next?
Can ChatGPT take meeting notes?
It writes them from a transcript you paste in. One r/lifecoaching poster keeps a ChatGPT project per client, uploads the transcript, and prompts it for the follow-up email. Recording consent rules vary by jurisdiction, so ask your client.
How much do AI note takers cost?
Two vendor pages loaded for me on 30 September 2026: Granola at $0 and $14 per user a month, Littlebird at $0 and $17 on Plus. Fathom, Hedy, Otter and Read.ai returned no price, so ask and note the date.
Is there an AI note taker that works with Claude?
Several publish an MCP server so Claude can read what they wrote: Granola on Business, Littlebird on Plus, Read.ai and Jamie on their own pages. Whether Claude writes the report or only reads it is the split here.
Ember is a session-report builder for coaches, in closed beta: $8 a month and 5 free sessions a month. I build it.
Ember